Lane Community College's Student Newspaper

2014-15 ASLCC candidates look for student support

Posted on April 17, 2014 | in ASLCC, News | by

Polls open April 28 to May 1

With a little more than two weeks to campaign, 20 students officially announced their intention on April 14 to run for office in Lane’s student government.

Students are elected to four different positions in the Associated Students of Lane Community College. The positions are president, vice president, senator and Student Finance Board student-at-large.

This is the first year where the treasurer and the multicultural programs coordinator will not be elected. A ballot measure passed last year turned both titles into appointed positions.

The presidential and vice presidential candidates run together on a joint ticket, where- as the other two positions run alone. According to the student government’s bylaws, the elected presidential ticket will receive a monthly stipend and up to 12 free credits.

According to an email from Elections Committee Chair- woman Rebekah Ellis, there are currently three presidential election tickets: Francisco “Kiko” Gomez for president and Ben Buchanan as his vice president; Michael Weed for president and Malisa Ratthasing as his vice president; and Clinton Fear as president and Kathy Renfrowand as vice president.

Gomez and Ratthasing are senators in the student government. Weed is the current administration’s sustainability coordinator.

Current student government president Paul Zito said that while senatorial candidates run on individual tickets, they can be included on presidential candidates’ “slates.” A slate is the list of senatorial candidates that the presidential tickets endorse and campaign with.

Senators receive a monthly stipend, but no credit waiver.

Ellis’ email announced 14 senatorial candidates: Sarah J. Pishioneri, Brandi Hoskins, Felicia Dickinson, Esau Gavett, Nicole Rund, Sofie Crandall, Wesley Allen, Trevor Moore, Caleb Miller, Christian Mel- lo, Jennifer McCarrick, Robert Schumacher, Scott Compton and Emily Aguilera.

Dickinson, Moore and Agu- ilera were appointed to vacant senate seats during the 2013-2014 year.

Hoskins is the current administration’s chief of staff and McCarrick is its Student Resource Center director. Schumacher was the communications director, but Zito said he stepped down from that role for spring term.

The Student Finance Board is an advisory committee for the student government. It is chaired by the treasurer, with two senators and four students-at-large sitting on it.

Ellis says that the student-at-large position pays $100 per month, but no one is running for any of the four vacancies.

Zito said the positions will have to be appointed by the new administration next year.

Dickinson was the only person who ran for the student-at-large position during last year’s elections.

Comment via Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Recent Posts

Torch logo The Torch staff: advice and learning Alyssa sutton Editor-in-chief For the last time, I am creating a document on Google Drive,...
Torch logo Athletics pinches pennies Coaches decide how to accomodate 24 percent budget reduction After taking a 24 percent revenue...
Signing_Sports_AS Bemidji scoops up second Titan For the second time in four weeks, a Lane basketball player has committed to play...
Torch logo 15 titans will transfer A third-place finish at the NWAACC tournament, three players selected for the All-NWAACC team and...
Luke McKay was a 2013 All-American and placed third at the northwest athletic association of Community Colleges Championship in 2013. His personal record is 15 feet 3 inches. File/The Torch From Port-au-Prince to pole vault pit Luke McKay overcomes odds, reconnects with family Lane track standout Luke McKay’s journey to Eugene...

Torch Twitter


April 2014
« Mar   May »