Lane Community College's Student Newspaper

The Torch takes home multiple awards

Posted on May 15, 2014 | in Opinion | by

The Torch, Lane Community College’s student newspaper, won 25 awards, including the top prize, in the annual Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association Collegiate Newspaper Contest.

This was the fourth time since 2009 that The Torch took home a first-place award for general excellence, the highest honor a college newspaper can receive from the ONPA.

The Torch, which is funded through the student activity fee, is in its 50th year.

Three from The Torch won more than one award. Photo Editor Eugene Johnson won five awards, including best sports and feature photos. Former reporter Taya Alami won four, including best writing. Sports Editor Jarrid Denney won two, including second place in the best-section contest.

“We’ve had a rough year, and it was good to see everybody’s hard work pay off in a big way,” Editor-in-Chief Alyssa Sutton said.

But it was reporter Laura Newman’s first-place prize for her editorial, which stressed the need for cultural-competency training among Lane’s staff, that called the contest’s importance into focus, Sutton said.

“She had never written an article before, let alone an editorial, and then took first in that category,” Sutton said. “It’s good to get feedback from professionals in the industry, assuring us that we’re doing something right.”

The winners were announced May 9 at Linn-Benton Community College in Albany.

General Excellence: First place
Best Design: Byron Hughey and Wes Fry, first place
Best writing: Taya Alami, first place, Kyle Webb, second place
Best Editorial: Laura Newman, first place, Alyssa Sutton, second place
Best Website: Tenaya Smith, second place
Best Feature Story: Aislinn Rennison, first place, Marissa Corr, second place
Best Section: Sports Editor Jarrid Denney, second place, Former News Editor J. Wolfgang Wool, third place
Best Sports Photo: Eugene Johnson, first and third places
Best Feature Photo: Eugene Johnson, first and third places
Best Cartoon: Kassidy Zuniga, first place
Best News Story: Taya Alami, second place
Best Series: Taya Alami, second place
Best Photography: Matt Edwards, second place
Best Review: Taya Alami, second place
Best Special Section: Eugene Johnson, third place
Best Headline Writing: Staff, third place
Best Sports Story: Jarrid Denney, third place
Best Spot News Photo: Brett Stanley, third place
Best House Ad: Staff, third place

Comment via Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Recent Posts

11_07_Classsize Larger classes upset teachers Lane Community College instructors complained about increased class sizes to the Board of Education at...
ASLCCDUNKTANK Lane’s 50th anniversary off to a big start Students welcomed with information, fun and food Lane Community College was alive with the buzz...
Torch logo The Torch staff: advice and learning Alyssa sutton Editor-in-chief For the last time, I am creating a document on Google Drive,...
Torch logo Athletics pinches pennies Coaches decide how to accomodate 24 percent budget reduction After taking a 24 percent revenue...
Signing_Sports_AS Bemidji scoops up second Titan For the second time in four weeks, a Lane basketball player has committed to play...

Torch Twitter


May 2014
« Apr   Jun »