Warning: Illegal string offset 'td_post_template' in /nfs/c08/h04/mnt/119951/domains/lcctorch.com/html/wp-content/themes/Newspaper/includes/wp_booster/td_single_template_vars.php on line 67
Torch wins awards - The Torch
Torch wins awards

Torch wins awards


The Torch won 16 awards for the 2014-15 year, two national awards announced at the national Associated Collegiate Press conference in Los Angeles on March 1 and 14 awarded at the annual Oregon Newspaper Publisher’s Association conference at Linn Benton Community College on May 8.

Regional ONPA Awards

First place

Best writing: Daemion Lee

Best feature photo: Travis Holmes

Best website: E.J. Olsen

Second place

General excellence: all staff

Best spot news photo: August Frank

Best house ad: E.J. Olsen

Best design: André Casey and E.J. Olsen

Best writing: Ella Jones

Best series: Penny Scott, August Frank, Taylor Neigh and Chayne Thomas

Third place

Best section, news: all staff

Best columnist: Penny Scott

Best writing: Penny Scott

Best Graphic: André Casey

National ACP Best of Show Awards

Newspaper Special Edition— third place

Two-year Newspaper — tenth place

Attending the ONPA event in Albany were editor-in-chief Penny Scott, design editor Andre Casey, photo editor August Frank and production adviser Dorothy Wearne. Attending the ACP event in Los Angeles were editor-in-chief Penny Scott, managing editor Ella Jones, design editor Andre Casey and photo editor August Frank.